Just Once.

​I did it just once and I got bitten.

I went down that road just once

And I got stuck forever.

I went for the kill just once

And I got scarred for life.

I jumped to catch just once

And my bones crumbled continually.

 Just once, I thought of you

And your memories lingered on.

Just once, I felt your touch

And I couldn’t let go.

Just once, I let you see

And you saw to my depths.

Just once, I let you hear

And you heard the epistles of my soul.

Just once, I let you glow

And unfading, you became…

I tried it just once and I got the gold.

I tried just once and I crashed in the dust.

I tried it just once and glory came for me

I tried it just once and the gallows kept calling for me…

For once, I took that turn

And I was turned forever.

Just once, I looked to you

And you got me hooked on you.

Just once, I let you go

And you left, without looking back.

Just once, I let you in

And out, you left in me a seed.

A seed that grew into a tree I couldn’t hew down…

Just once, just that once…

And my whole being spun at once.

Just once, just that once,

I got scars to nurse.

Just once, just that once…

I can no longer take a step back

Just once…

Dedicated to everyone that made a “one-time decision or mistake” at a point or the other in their lifetime, that left indelible marks in your lives – in whatever area (career, education, relationships, marriage, religion… And so on)

You are stronger than your faults.

Oluwakemisola A.

July 21st, 2017

2 thoughts on “Just Once.”

Leave a Reply

