OUR LANGUAGE AND CULTURE; A Species Near Extinction

READ, ENJOY AND SHARE

Ondo State Medical Student's Association, UNILAG

ondo

Few days back, a friendly senior colleague was discussing with me, one thing led to another and we found ourselves talking about a Yoruba leader who is reverberating historical and ancient landmarks and structures. At first it sounded or looked diabolical but if you look closely enough or faraway as I later did; it looks like he is trying to restore and preserve our disappearing culture.

And this led to the argument of language. How “queen’s English”, “American English” and “British English” has almost wiped out our local languages from existence. I thought about it and really in our generation, only 1-2 out of 10of us can fluently speak their local languages including Yoruba, which is sadden.

I had to stand up for my own, and said, “I as a person, I speak and write Yoruba as well and much as I do English”… lol baah? He also laughed and…

View original post 544 more words

Leave a Reply

